

East Zone Report to Board of Governors September 2018

Submitted by Jennifer Hatt, for Betsy McGeoch

To the USA Synchro Board of Governors and Board of Directors:

Thank you to USA Synchro President Linda Loendorf, Zone chairs Denise Shively(North), Carole Mitchell(South), Patricia Jones (West), for making the time for monthly conference calls to discuss upcoming items and concerns from the Zones and USA Synchro.

I would like to thank my board for their time and commitment to the East Zone!

The East Zone was very proud to represent the United States this year with several of our swimmers on National Teams. These girls put in a lot of hard work and sacrifices and it showed from their results. What an awesome job! Congratulations!

Our All-star team listings are attached. We held our 50th Anniversary Zone Championship Meet in March in Tonawanda, NY. We celebrated our 50 years with a wonderful cake. During the competition we celebrated the great people of our zone with the following Zone Awards:

EAST ZONE CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY – New Canaan Aquianas

EAST ZONE COACH OF THE YEAR – Reem Abdalazeem, ANA Synchro

EAST ZONE CONTRIBUTOR - Karen McGann, Pennsbury Falconettes

EAST ZONE ATHLETE - Sophia Ju, ANA Synchro

KIM MILLER SCHOLARSHIP WINNER - Grace Alwan, ANA Synchro

Scholar Athletes 102 - new criteria. A, 92%, 3.76

Even though we had a great 50th East Zone Anniversary celebration we did have some key zone members missing from the party. In March, we lost our long time scoring chair Pete McGeoch. As a zone, we rallied for him to fight on and changed name to the PETE Zone at our February 13-15 Champs. We had all our athletes and coaches come together to cheer him on in his fight.

It is with great pride that I can announce that during our zone meeting we have voted to donate \$1,200 in Pete's name to the foundation to lift him to the Gold Level.





East Zone Report continued

We held our yearly elections in March and have made the following changes;

Zone Chair: Betsy McGeoch,

Vice Chair: Jen Hatt, acting chair until Betsy is able to return

Officials Chair: Thanks to outgoing chair Patti Flanagan, new chair Laura Ehrenreich

Educational Chair: Katie Rice

Technical Chair: Thanks to outgoing chair, Svetlana Malinovskaya, new chair Patti Melbers

Treasurer: Kris-Ann Gutenmakher

Scoring Co-Chairs: New chairsStephanie Kuebler and Gil Sharon **Secretary:** Thanks to outgoing sec. Jen W. new sec Liana Litsky

National Nominating: Karen McGann & Melissa Bruhn

National Site: Mary Ellen Weigand Governance Committee: Sheila Wright Rules Committee: Laura Ehrenreich

Athlete Reps: Sr Audrey Millar, Jr Emily Ma

The 2018 East Zone Junior All-Star Team:

(Back Row, left to right) Isabelle Lange (BSK), Erica Matsui (MST), Trinity Patton (BBD), Emily Brieant (NCA), Katie Chidley (NCA), Jenna Chen (NCA), Reverie Nedde (AYS), Olivia Malloy (AYS), Brenna O'Brocta (TTA), Lindi Schroder (OPT), Emily Ma (OPT), Ashley Latchford (BSK), Alena Grace Mauhs (NCA), Olivia Li (NCA), Audrey Millar (NCA), Claire Ermer (TTA)

The 2018 East Zone 13-15 All-Star Team:

Olivia Li (NCA), Megan Tappe (NCA), Julia Paradis (OSC), Brenna O'Brocta (TTA), Rhyan Luther (NCA), Julia Bernardes (MST), Polina Malinovskaya (OSC), Jenna Chen (NCA).

The 2018 East Zone 12&U All-Star Team:

Viola Li (NCA), Raya Schlosser (NCA), Hayoung Sohn (MST), Aubrey Shen (NCA), Irene Choi (MST), Nicole Yuri Choi (MST), Bonnie Li (OPT), Andrea Chen (MST)